BBSRC Innovator of the Year 2019 Award: applications open now

Do you know a brilliant BBSRC-funded researcher that deserves recognition? Innovator of the Year is once again ready to recognise and reward impact from BBSRC’s research portfolio, from commercial success to influence on public policy, from breakthrough inventions to innovative solutions to global problems.

BBSRC relies on recommendations to highlight excellent researchers and encourage them to apply – either directly or by recommending them through our website. We encourage everyone to apply, from early-career researchers who are demonstrating promising impact to experienced academics with a lifetime’s work to celebrate.

Winners of each of the four categories – Commercial Impact, Social Impact, International Impact and Early Career Impact – will receive a £10,000 award, with a further £10,000 for the BBSRC Innovator of the Year winner. Awards will be presented at a high-profile event in London in May 2019.

Further information and links to the application and recommendation forms can be found on our website:

The application deadline is 30th January 2019

Plant Powered (MFC) Camera Trap Challenge – 10K on offer, deadline 30 Apr 18

The Zoological Society of London (ZSL), the Arribada Initiative and OpenPlant have launched a competition for designing and prototyping a plant-MFC (microbial fuel cell) system able to power camera trap in remote locations.

All the details are available in this link:

Take up the challenge – there is £10k on offer. Deadline 30 Apr 18.

EPSRC Science Photo Competition 2017 – still time to get a photo in

This is open to all EPSRC-supported researchers and EPSRC-supported doctoral students. The scheme aims to capture the breadth of EPSRC’s portfolio, with applicants sharing their research through pictures. Prizes are available in a range of categories, with the overall winner of the competition awarded £500 worth of camera/photography equipment, along with prizes for runners up in each category. Closing Date: 6th December  2017. See: .